Admissions Information

The Department offers an undergraduate Major in Philosophy with a choice of four concentrations:

Philosophy (no specific concentration)
Philosophy and Law
Philosophy and Science
Ethics and Public Policy

In addition, it offers a minor in Philosophy and a minor in Philosophy of Law. All of the required courses place a heavy emphasis on developing students' abilities to think, read, and write critically. While some of our majors go on to become university philosophy professors, most go on to careers in such areas as law, medicine, business, government, teaching, and public service.

For more information about applying to VCU, visit the Admissions Office website, or call (804) 828-1222 Once admitted to the university, there are no specific admission requirements for these programs. Students need only complete a Change of Major/Concentration form obtainable from Records and Registration. For information about transferring credits from other institutions, visit the VCU Transfer Center website, or call (804) 827-1349.