Admissions Information

The Department offers an undergraduate Major in Philosophy with a choice of four concentrations:

  • a regular concentration
  • Ethics and Public Policy
  • Philosophy and Science
  • Philosophy and Law

In addition, it offers a Minor in Philosophy and a Minor in the Philosophy of Law. All of the courses place a heavy emphasis on developing students' abilities to think, read, and write critically. While some of our majors go on to become university philosophy professors, most go on to careers in such areas as law, medicine, business, government, teaching, and public service.

Once admitted to the university, there are no specific admission requirements to these programs. Students need only complete a Change of Major form obtainable from Records and Registration. For information about admission to the university, phone the Admissions Office at 804-828-1222. For information about transferring credits from other institutions, phone the VCU Transfer Center at 804-827-1349.