Department of Philosophy

The Department of Philosophy

                The Department of Philosophy

What is Philosophy? and Philosophy at VCU

Faculty Information

Admission Information

Requirements for the Majors and the Minors

General Advice for Students

2014–2015 Course Schedule

VCU Graduation on Saturday, Dec 13, 2014


We are pleased to announce two new concentrations within the philosophy major: a Philosophy and Science concentration and a Philosophy and Law concentration. Students can graduate with these concentrations beginning fall 2015. For more information, see the philosophy advisor, Professor Donald Smith.

Welcome to Anthony Bolos (Ph.D., The University of Edinburgh), who joins VCU's philosophy faculty for the 2014–2015 academic year! Dr. Bolos specializes in epistemology and the philosophy of religion.

Advising: Professor Donald Smith is the advisor for all philosophy majors. If you have advising questions or would like an advising appointment, contact Professor Smith (

Upcoming Seminar in Philosophy (PHIL 490) topics:
Fall 2014: Disagreement, taught by Donald Smith
Spring 2015: Religious Epistemology, taught by Anthony Bolos

Congratulations to our recent graduates!

December 2014
  • Scott Batcheller
  • Peyton Cocker
  • Jared Crist
  • Julian Dowd
  • Jackson Eiland
  • Hannah Morgan
  • Tyler Patsch
  • Andrew Pham
  • Alana Russell
  • Maximillian Schweiger
  • Tyler Wall
August 2014
  • Alex Ewell
May 2014
  • Christopher Byrd
  • Mary Gallagher
  • Andrea Jackson
  • Andrew Kennedy-Derkay
  • Joseph Knoebel
  • Michael Perreault
  • Gordon Randlett
  • Jennifer Ramos
  • Alexander Wilson
(Email if your name has been omitted.)

Department of Philosophy
College of Humanities and Sciences
Virginia Commonwealth University
915 West Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23284-2025

(804) 828-1224

Anthony Ellis, Department Chair:
C. Diane Bentley, Secretary:

Updated 12/12/2014